Check your PNR Status Now
Enter a valid PNR No
Train Timings
PNR Status Check Made Easy - Indian Railway PNR Status
your train departs in :
Coming Soon..!
If you cancel your ticket now approx refund amount :
Coming Soon..!
Indian railways PNR Status

PNR Status

A PNR is an abbreviated form of Passenger Name Record (PNR) in a travel Industry. It is basically a record of the itinerary for a passenger or group of passengers (travelling together) in the database of a Computer Reservation System (CRS).

A PNR status is widely used term in the travel industry including railways and airlines industry. The PNR was initially introduced by airlines for exchanging reservation information in case of passengers who require flights of multiple airlines to complete their journey. The standards for interline messaging of PNR is defined by IATA and ATA.

The introduction of PNRs was originally intended for air travel; however, its usage has now spread across the bookings of railways tickets, hotels, tours, car rentals, etc.

Information needed for generating PNR

In order to complete the booking of tickets and generate the PNR, the following information is required by the CRS (Computer Reservation System).

  • Name of the passenger or passengers travelling together in a group.
  • Contact details for the travel agent or airline office (It is usually the 8-digit IATA code of the travel agency or airline office)
  • Ticketing details
  • Itinerary of at least one portion of travel
  • Name of the person who provides the travel information

There are no specific rules or guidelines for layout and content of a PNR. However, most of the CRS systems have similarities in data content and format to suit the requirements of mapping PNR data effortlessly to AIRIMP messages.

How PNR is generated?

Whenever a passenger books an itinerary, the travel agent creates a PNR in the Computer Reservation System used by the airline or railway company through company’s website.At this stage of booking, the CRS will generate an alpha-numeric record locator that remains the same irrespective of any further changes. This record locator is used for identifying PNR in the particular database.

On booking of an airline ticket, every airline creates their own booking record along with a unique record locator that is transmitted to the CRS and gets stored in the database.

Railways PNR Status

A railway PNR number is the 10 digit unique number printed on the left hand side of the top of railways tickets. It indicates the confirmed or waitlisted status of your ticket along with the coach and seat numbers.

There are many ways of getting the PNR status including checking PNR status online on IRCTC site, by telephone, by mobile using SMS, or by using services of various travel websites like Cleartrip or Rediff. Railways PNR Status

Airline PNR Status

The airline Passenger Name Record (PNR) is generated by the airlines for journey booked by passenger. This PNR number gets stored in the reservation and departure control databases of airlines. The number of fields of information in PNR system varies from airline to airline and it may extend up to 60 fields and sub-fields.

PNR allows each passenger to access the relevant information regarding his/her departure and return flights,connecting flights (if any), or any other special services needed on boarding the flight, etc.

Most of the airlines and travel agencies across the world host their PNR databases on Computer Reservations System (CRS) or with Global Distribution System (GDS) companies such as Worldspan,Amadeus, Sabre, and Galileo.

Railway tickets coming up with different booking status symbols, which are described here:

Symbol Description
CAN / MOD Cancelled or Modified Passenger
CNF / Confirmed Confirmed (Coach/Berth number will be available after chart preparation)
CK Tatkal Quota
CKWL Tatkal Waiting List
RAC Reservation Against Cancellation
WL # Waiting List Number
RLWL Remote Location Wait List
GNWL General Wait List
PQWL Pooled Quota Wait List
REGRET/WL No More Booking Permitted
RELEASED Ticket Not Cancelled but Alternative Accommodation Provided
R# # RAC Coach Number Berth Number

8 AC Premium Superfast Express Trains between Secunderabad – Visakhapatnam

8 AC Premium Superfast Express Trains between Secunderabad – Visakhapatnam SCR will run 8 AC premium superfast special trains between Secunderabad and Visakhapatnam Schedule :  Train No. 02204 Secunderabad – Visakhapatnam Premium AC Premium Superfast Express train will depart Secunderabad on 5th, 12th, 19th and 26th December, 2014 (Fridays) at 11:00 pm and arrive Visakhapatnam [...]

2 Superfast Express Trains between Secunderabad – Kakinada Town

2 Superfast Express Trains between Secunderabad – Kakinada Town SCR will run 2 Premium superfast special trains between Secunderabad and Kakinada Town. Schedule: Train No. 02738 Secunderabad – Kakinada Town Premium Superfast Express train will depart Secunderabad on 6th December, 2014 (Saturday) at 10:15 pm and arrive Kakinada Town at 07:15 am on the next [...]

132 Sabarimalai special trains from Hyderabad & Secunderabad

132 Sabarimalai special trains from Hyderabad & Secunderabad 2014 SCR will run 132 special trains from various locations to Sabari malai to clear the extra rush of pilgrims. These sabarimalai special trains from Hyderabad, Nizamabad, Kakinada Town, Narsapur, Vijayawada, Machilipatnam, Sirpurkagaznagar, Karimnagar, Aurangabad, Akola, Adilabad to Kollam and back from 5th December, 2014 to 17th [...]

Mobile based Destination Alert Wake-Up call for Passengers

wake up call

A quite interesting feature has been introduced by railways to rail passengers especially for those passengers who were in to deep sleep and miss their destination station.  A Mobile based alert in the form of IVR or SMS will be given to passengers before the train reaches destination. Passengers can know when their destination station [...]

139 call charges Rs.3 per SMS – Railway enquiry

Centralised Railway Enquiry System 139 charges: Railway enquiry number 139 charges are not known for many railway passengers. This Rail Sampark number 139 is being managed in private & public partnership by sharing the revenue received through calls & SMS from telecom operators. Following call charges are applicable for calls received on 139: Landline: Rs. [...]

Branded, ready to eat food in trains within few days

Railways are in talks with food manufacturers to provide branded ready to eat foods from reputed branded companies. Pricing of different food items will be decided very soon. Presently this will be implemented in few selected trains like mail and express trains with pantry car facility. The pre cooked food items will be initially launched [...]

, , , , , ,

32 Special Trains between Secunderabad-Visakhapatnam Bi-Weekly & One Special Train From Kacheguda to Vijayawada

32 Special Trains between Secunderabad-Visakhapatnam Bi-Weekly & One Special Train From Kacheguda to Vijayawada via Nalgonda, Guntur. These diwali special trains helps to reduce extra rush in SCR region. I)Secunderabad – Visakhapatnam – Secunderabad Bi-Weekly Special Train via Rajahmundry : Train No. 08506 Secunderabad – Visakhapatnam Bi-Weekly Special Train will depart Secunderabad at 07:45 pm [...]

More »